How to Speak the Different Love Languages

Love can be expressed in many different ways, and understanding the various love languages can help you better communicate your feelings to your loved ones. The five love languages are acts of service, quality time, words of affirmation, physical touch and gift giving. 

Each language represents a unique way of expressing and receiving love, and knowing which language your loved one speaks can help you to deepen your connection with them. Read on to learn more about the five love languages and how to speak each one more consciously and effectively. 

Acts of Service

Actions over words. Think: doing something for your loved one that you know they would appreciate. This could be expressed in many ways, including washing the dishes, filling up their petrol tank or making the bed. Show you care by being of service.

Quality Time

Spending one-on-one quality time with people who speak this love language is key. Cook a meal together, go on a date night, enjoy a swim and walk, or simply curl up and watch TV on the lounge together. It’s not really about what you’re doing in particular – just as long as it’s together. 

Words of Affirmation

Using words to show love, appreciation and gratitude. The words may be about a personality trait that you love about that special someone, how much you value your relationship with them or something you admire about them. If you love them, be sure to let them know by telling them or writing a heartfelt love note!

Physical Touch

Showing love through the physical connection of touch. These people tend to be sensory seekers, so spoil them with affection. This could look like holding hands, intimate time, kissing/hugging or simply having your leg touch theirs when you're sitting together.

Gift Giving

Giving a gift is a wonderful way to express your love and appreciation. It doesn’t need to be expensive, but it should be chosen with care and tailored to the person you’re giving it to. This is especially important if they value receiving gifts as a sign of affection.